Post

Sergey Sobyanin: Restoration of the Pokrovskoye-Streshnevo Estate Ensemble Completed

Sergey Sobyanin: Restoration of the Pokrovskoye-Streshnevo Estate Ensemble Completed

Published on: 2026-06-10

Source: Moscow Government – Government of Moscow –

An important disclaimer is at the bottom of this article.

The restoration of the historical ensemble of the Pokrovskoe-Streshnevo estate — a unique architectural monument of the 18th–19th centuries, which gave its name to the entire district of the capital — has been completed.Sergey SobyaninReviewed the results of the completed work and chatted with the children — participants of the children’s drawing contest “Heritage of My District”.

The Mayor of Moscow noted that the estate, which had been in an emergency condition for several years, is now fully restored. Events can be held here, people can stroll, and plein airs can be organized.

“Specialists have restored its historical appearance and are now adapting it for modern use. Now, a new cultural center will operate at the estate with exhibition and concert halls, a lecture hall, a library, a photo studio, a winter garden, and a restaurant in the greenhouse,” wrote the Mayor of Moscow on his channel.

messenger “Max”.

Source: Sergey Sobyanin’s channel inmessenger “Max”

The history of the estate is closely intertwined with the history of the country. For many years it belonged to the Streshnev family, whose members became followers of Peter I.

An old estate, one of the oldest in Moscow. Its 250-year history is connected both with the supporters of Peter I and with his first teacher, Tikhon Streshnev. “This is the history of our country,” emphasized Sergey Sobyanin.

Next to it, there is a large natural and historical park, on the territory of which reconstruction and improvement works have also been carried out.

“In 2022, we carried out a comprehensive rehabilitation of the Pokrovskoe-Streshnevo Park, and together with it, Zhukinsky Park and Vsevyatskaya Grove, transforming the territories in the northwest of the city into a huge green space for comfortable recreation, sports activities, playing with children, and walking,” the Mayor of Moscow reported on his channel

messenger “Max”.

Source: Sergey Sobyanin’s channel in“Max” messenger

Restoration of the Pokrovskoe-Streshnevo Estate

The decision on the restoration of the historic estate ensemble, including the manor house, the unique fence with turrets in the castle style, and the greenhouse, was made by the Mayor of Moscow in 2022 — immediately after the completion of the comprehensive rehabilitation of the park area.

During the restoration of the Pokrovskoe-Streshnevo estate ensemble, the historical appearance was restored. The objects surrounding it are being adapted for modern use.

So, specialists restored the brickwork of the main house facades, including the stucco decoration — it was complemented and recreated. They tidied up the white stone and marble details, balconies and stairs, the rafter system, the roof with dormer windows, and wooden ceilings. The historical spatial-planning structure of the interiors was restored, as well as the stucco decoration: damaged parts were renovated, and lost parts were recreated. Furthermore, tiled fireplaces and the grand staircase with Triton figures were restored. Chandeliers, parquet patterns, and paintings on the walls of the Blue Living Room were also recreated.

In the orangery, the brickwork and white stone facade details were put in order. The reinforced concrete vault, wooden ceilings, and rafter structures were restored. The roof was covered with copper, the dome with a spire was recreated. The glazing structure and the pitched roof with dormer windows were restored on the porch. The white stone plinth, the podium with a Tuscan order colonnade, and the crowning profiled cornices of the semicircular central hall were restored. The historically embedded door openings inside the building were uncovered, and the floor covering — marble slabs — was also put in order.

Â

The sculpture “Hermes with the infant Dionysus” and the obelisk in front of the villa have been restored. Specialists have filled in the losses, completed the assembly, priming, and painting of the monuments, and strengthened their foundations.

Restored the fence with the main entrance gate, the corner towers, and the two-tiered western tower. The craftsmen put in order the brickwork, metal gates (central entrance and symmetrical pairs of smaller side gates), as well as the roof with copper covering. The walls of the two-tiered western tower, its vaults, ceilings, window slopes, and door openings were plastered. The wooden gates were also restored.

Based on archival photographs and drawings, a regular garden was recreated. The soil cover, flowerbeds, and linden plantings were restored there. On the square in front of the estate, as well as on the main alley, parallel and perpendicular alleyways were covered with split paving stones in a historical style. Secondary paths were made from stepped tiles. Along the alleys, floor lamps in a historical style were installed, and beneath them, engineering networks were laid (lighting, video surveillance, electricity, and heating supply for the estate).

In addition, historical buildings were equipped with modern ventilation and air conditioning systems, electric and water supply, heating and video surveillance, fire and security alarm systems.

History of the Pokrovskoe-Streshnevo Estate

The first mention of the village of Podyolki, located on the site of the modern Pokrovskoye-Streshnevo, dates back to 1332. At that time, it was the patrimony of the boyar Rodion Nestorovich, who entered the service of the Moscow prince Ivan Kalita.

Around 1600, a wooden church of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin was built on the territory of the estate, after which the village of Podelki began to be called the village of Pokrovsky. After several changes of owners, in 1664 it belonged to Rodion Streshnev—the first owner from the Streshnev family, who played a notable role in the entourage of Peter I. Representatives of this family were high-ranking officials, and Tikhon Streshnev was the tutor of the young Tsarevich Peter Alekseevich, the future emperor. For more than 250 years, until 1917, the estate was owned by the Streshnev family and was called Pokrovsky-Streshnevo.

The first stone manor house in the Elizabethan Baroque style was built by Petr Streshnev in 1766. It was a building typical for country residences of the middle nobility. Further development of the estate took place at the beginning of the 19th century under Elizaveta Glebova-Streshneva. She moved permanently to Pokrovskoe and by 1806 significantly rebuilt the manor house in the classicism style. Nearby, a regular (French) park was laid out, with most of it shaped in the style of a landscape park. They built a bathhouse, grottos, dug labyrinth canals, and made ponds there.At this time, the creation of a fashionable dacha settlement for the affluent public is being undertaken.

A new blossoming of the estate occurred during the time of Evgenia Shakhovskaya (1840–1924), who in 1864 obtained the right to bear the triple surname Shakhovskaya-Glebova-Streshneva, since the Glebov-Streshnev family line had become extinct by that time. After settling in Moscow, the last of the Streshnev family began rebuilding the manor house, deciding to transform it into something resembling a fairy-tale tower, a Western European castle, and a boyar chamber of ancient Moscow. To it, she added red-brick buildings with pointed towers and tile roofs, and the estate was surrounded by a fence with battlements.The project was entrusted to the renowned architects of the late 19th century — masters of eclecticism and Art Nouveau: Alexander Rezanov, Konstantin Tersky, Fyodor Kolbe, and Alexander Popov.

After the nationalization of the estate in the 1920-1930s, a museum of noble life operated here, followed by various regime institutions: a rest home, the Brain Institute, and dachas of the Main Directorate of Civil Aviation (now “Aeroflot”). During the Great Patriotic War, a hospital was located on the estate, and in the 1970s, the Scientific Research Institute of Civil Aviation operated here. In 1992, a fire occurred, destroying the roof and attic floor of the main house, as well as damaging the front halls with interiors.

In 2016, the estate, which had fallen into a state of emergency, was transferred to the ownership of the Moscow Government. This became the first step toward the revival of this historical and architectural monument.

Rehabilitation of the natural-historical park “Pokrovskoe-Streshnevo”

The Pokrovskoe-Streshnevo park, located between the southern shore of the Khimki reservoir and the Volokolamsk highway, represents a huge green area of more than 200 hectares. It is a favorite recreation place for approximately 120 thousand Muscovites — residents of the Voikovsky and Pokrovskoe-Streshnevo districts.

The concept of park rehabilitation, developed at the request of the Government of Moscow, was given the name “Five Parks in One.”

The central part of “Pokrovsko-Streshnevo” — a natural park — has remained a natural protected area. It is intended for quiet walks along forest trails and secluded recreation in close contact with nature.

Another natural territory became an ecological and educational park, which, unlike the protected central zone, is designed for more intensive human visitation.

The main infrastructure for sports activities — courts for streetball and panna football, tables for ping-pong, a workout zone, a skatepark, and a pump track — has been concentrated in the northern part of “Pokrovsko-Streshnevo,” along Leningrad Highway.

The best place for walks and children’s entertainment has become the leisure and recreational park near Ivankovsky ponds.

The fifth part became the territory around the frame and the estate—a historical and cultural park. All the elements of the architectural ensemble are brought to their original state based on archival photographs and drawings, but at the same time adapted for modern use.

At the same time as the rehabilitation of “Pokrovskoe-Streshnevo” in 2022, similar works were carried out in Shchukino Park and Vse Svatskaya Grove, located on the other side of the Volokolamsk Highway. As a result, a single green space was created in the northwest of Moscow with a total area of more than 270 hectares, comfortable and safe for recreation, sports activities, and walks with children.

Restoration of cultural heritage objects in Moscow

Moscow is one of the world leaders in the field of preservation of historical and cultural heritage. Since 2011, more than 2,500 cultural heritage sites have been restored in the capital. As a result, today the share of Moscow monuments in good and satisfactory condition is 96 percent.

Unprecedented volumes of restoration are planned for 2026 as well. Today, about 500 permits for carrying out work on the preservation of cultural heritage sites are active in Moscow.

In addition to the Pokrovskoe-Streshnevo estate (Glebovo-Streshnevo), the iconic object of restoration in 2026 can be called the Central Moscow Hippodrome. During the work, the historical appearance will be returned to the architectural monument — its main building, and the capacity of the main spectator stand will be up to two thousand people. In addition, the famous pylons of the gates with equestrian sculptures, decorating the entrance to the hippodrome from the side of Leningradsky Prospekt (1898-1899, sculptors — Sergey Volnuhin and Konstantin Klodt) will be restored.

Restoration work is the most important part of a comprehensive project to revive the Central Moscow Hippodrome as the largest equestrian sports center in Russia.

Restoration work is also being carried out today at such a site as:

— the building of the Central Telegraph (Tverskaya Street, building 7);

— the Ostankino estate, where restoration work on the Italian pavilion is due to be completed this year;

— experimental residential building of 1927–1929, built according to the project of architect Konstantin Melnikov (Krivoarbatsky Lane, house 10);

— chambers of the 17th century (Prechistenka street, house 1/2);

— a residential house of the A.A. Basrushin estate, built in the 18th–19th centuries (Basrushin Street, house 31/12, building 1);

— Residential house of the Maltsev family, 19th century (Bolshaya Yakimanka Street, house 5);

— the main house of the city estate of the 18th–19th centuries, at the core of which are the chambers of the turn of the 17th–18th centuries (Prechistenka Street, house 8, building 1);

— the main house with chambers and the foundation of the orangery, late 17th century, first half of the 18th century (Podsosensky Lane, house 21, building 3);

— VDNKh objects;

— the estates Kuzminki, Kolomenskoe, Vinogradovo, and others.

Subscribe to the official channels of Sergey Sobyanin in the messenger“Max” и“Telegram”.

Please note; this information is raw content obtained directly from the information source. It represents an accurate report of what the source claims and does not necessarily reflect the position of MIL-OSI or its clients.